Remembering 9/11

To mark the 10th anniversary of the attacks that took place on September 11, 2011, AFGE members and staff recalled how the day’s events affected them both personally and professionally. Below are links to their stories and other posts related to the anniversary. 

Personal remembrances

AFGE General Counsel David Borer

EPA Local 704 Vice President Jeffrey Bratko

AFGE 4th District National Representative Richard Fitch and Retired 4th District National Representative Reinhard Witiak

AFGE Field Services and Education Director Bill Fletcher

AFGE 4th District NVP Joseph Flynn

AFGE National President John Gage

AFGE 7th District NVP Dorothy James

AFGE 5th District NVP Everette Kelly

TSA Local 332 President Kim Kraynak-Lambert

TSO Valyria Lewis

District of Columbia EMS Specialist Ken Lyons

AFGE District 2 Legislative Political Organizer Linda Mason

Former Pentagon Police Officer Jeffrey Matthews

Lead TSO Ricky McCoy

AFGE 8th District NVP Jane Nygaard

SSA Local 1760 Vice President Shaun O’Connell

ICE Agent Patrick Remigio

AFGE 11th District NVP Gerald “Gerry” Swanke

DEFCON Vice Chair Patty Viers

AFGE Council 119 President Mark Whetstone

U.S. Marshals Service Police Officer Jason Wilder

Other tributes

List of federal employees killed in the attacks

Video tributes from AFGE and other unions

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s